Michael Eriksson's Blog

A Swede in Germany

How I and others comment

with 6 comments

I do my fair share of blog reading, and naturally drop off a comment here and there. (Increasingly so after registering my own WordPress account, which gives me this ability on more blogs than previously.)

An interesting difference between how I and many (most?) others comment, is that they tend express agreement on posts they concur with, while I tend to comment on those posts I find fault with (be it overall or in detail). This arises from a wish to improve things: If I see something that is suboptimal (let alone wrong), I tend to comment. If I see a post which ask for opinions and I have a relevant opinion, I tend to comment. Etc. OTOH: If a post is already impeccable; if it expresses the opinion I, myself, happen to have; if it open my eyes to a new aspect of something; then I am less likely to comment—why should I, when the need for improvement is not there?

I try to deliberate make a few agreeing posts from time to time, having learned from professional life that my natural attitude comes across as overly and one-sidedly critical to most others. (This is an error on their part, but a very understandable error, and I would advise anyone with a similar natural attitude to bear this in mind. Also note the Tall Dancer issue.) Similarly, I sometimes refrain from commenting on a post where I wanted to comment. Still the bulk will likely remain in my usual style for the foreseeable future.

In particular, should I have commented negatively on one of your posts, it is rarely because I consider you an idiot (although this can happen on rare occasions), but because I try to, in my own way, help. Sometimes it is the poster that I try to help, sometimes it is the other readers; but the intention is almost always constructive.

Returning to how others comment, there are also others that tend to be critical in their opinions. A few are like me, others just like to comment (and are positive or negative according to whether they agree or disagree), some are trolls looking for a fight with anyone, others yet simply react strongly to people of the “wrong” opinion (often with the automatic conclusion that the latter are, ipso facto, idiots).

My advice to both posters and commenters: Apply Hanlon’s razor and never attribute to malice that which can be explained by incompetence. (At least not on a first offense.)

Written by michaeleriksson

March 4, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for your comment. I don’t agree, but thanks for the constructive cristism.
    As you said, it depends on the rules you are following. I can give the reason I posted the way I did for everything — punctuation, capitalization, etc.. The hyphenations, yes, I hang my head in shame.

    Continue the comments and blogging!

    destork

    March 5, 2010 at 4:55 am

  2. Well I do like commenting when I agree.

    Very nice post.

    stephendriscoll2

    March 11, 2010 at 4:46 am

  3. I think a little disagreement gets everyone to think more. However, people who are set in their opinions or really think they are right often get offended when people offer their opinions. Sometimes when I think bloggers have stupid ideas, I feel like I have to sugar-coat my disagreements. Most people, whether they’ll admit it or not, prefer that sugar-coating.

    I think I often share your tendencies and I have to be careful about not offending people who aren’t as blunt, especially since I am just beginning to blog.

    Since I’m a high school student, I’m sure my arguments usually don’t have the sophistication that yours do.

    Thanks for your comments and good luck blogging.

    Caroline

    March 11, 2010 at 4:15 pm

  4. Just want to say hi and thank you for stopping by my blog and commenting, on the Swedish newspapers new stand. nice blog

    wdednh

    March 12, 2010 at 8:04 pm

  5. Hello,
    Nice Post. This clearly articulates the opinions in my head. I wish that people on social networking sites, facebook etc. and other sites like reddit.com would read this post before commenting. Its definitely an eye opener.

    Rishi

    March 25, 2010 at 2:20 am

  6. Great post!

    Keith Spillett

    January 15, 2011 at 9:07 pm


Leave a comment